deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

History & Background of the Centre for Real Estate

In Germany the tradition of sustainable construction can be traced back to the seventies of the last century and beyond. At that time, the focus clearly was on energy and resource savings but also on protecting occupants’ health. However, a contradiction was perceived between environmental requirements / pressures and the economic goals of the construction and real estate industry. Sustainable construction was regarded as a "cost driver" whose financial benefits were very difficult to quantify / demonstrate. 

In order to overcome existing misconceptions and alleged conflicting goals between environmental and economic issues within the industry, the Foundation "bauen-wohnen-leben" of the home savings and loan association "Schwäbisch-Hall" initiated the concept for an Endowed Institute at the Department of Economics and Management at KIT (formerly known as Universität Karlsruhe). The corresponding professorship was awarded to Thomas Lützkendorf in 2000. Within the same year, the Endowed Institute of Sustainable Management of Housing and Real Estate started its research and educational activities. Until 2010, the Institute was generously supported by Foundation "bauen-wohnen-leben". Following a positive evaluation, the Institute became a permanent feature at KIT. 

Since the time of its foundation the Institute – with its unique profile – was able to successfully establish itself within the national and international research and education community.

Against the background of a long-standing collaboration (dating back to 2005) between the Institute of Sustainable Management of Housing and Real Estate and the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS), the opportunity to set up a Shared Professorship on Property Valuation and Sustainability arose in 2010. The professorship was awarded to David Lorenz in 2012.  

The research and educational profiles of the Institute and the Shared Professorship were combined into the Centre for Real Estate in 2014.

english  | Home | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Vorgeschichte

Die Traditionen des ökologischen Bauens mit deutlichen Schwerpunkten in den Themenbereichen Energieeinsparung, Ressourcenschonung und Gesundheitsschutz lassen sich in Deutschland bis in die siebziger Jahre und darüber hinaus zurückverfolgen. Lange Zeit wurde jedoch ein Widerspruch zwischen den ökologischen Handlungserfordernissen und den ökonomischen Zielen der Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft gesehen. Das ökologische Bauen galt als Kostentreiber, dessen ökonomische Vorteile nur schwer zu quantifizieren seien.

Zur Überwindung bestehender Zielkonflikte und Missverständnisse zwischen Ökologie und Ökonomie im Baubereich wurde auf Initiative der Stiftung „Bauen-wohnen-leben“ der Bausparkasse Schwäbisch Hall im Jahr 1998 der Vorschlag zur Einrichtung eines Stiftungslehrstuhls an der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Karlsruhe entwickelt. Die entsprechende Professur wurde im Jahr 2000 ausgeschrieben und mit Thomas Lützkendorf besetzt. Im selben Jahr nahm der Lehrstuhl „Ökonomie und Ökologie des Wohnungsbaus“ seinen Lehr- und Forschungsbetrieb auf, dessen Arbeit durch die Stiftung bis zum Jahr 2010 in großzügiger Weise unterstützt wurde. Im Ergebnis einer positiven Evaluation wurde der Lehrstuhl dauerhaft in den Stellenplan der Universität übernommen.

Der sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt durch ein noch einmaliges Profil auszeichnende Lehrstuhl konnte sich erfolgreich in der internationalen und nationalen Lehr- und Forschungslandschaft etablieren und Kooperationsbeziehungen aufbauen.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer mehrjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit der Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) zu Fragen des nachhaltigen Bauens und der Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten in die Wertermittlung bot sich im Jahr 2012 die Möglichkeit zur Einrichtung einer Shared Professorship „Immobilienwertermittlung und Nachhaltigkeit“. Sie basiert auf der Nutzung eines entsprechenden Programms der KIT-Exzellenz-Initiative. Die Professur wurde mit David Lorenz besetzt, der seither in Lehre und Forschung u.a. die Fragen der Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten in die Wertermittlung vertritt und sich mit dem Nachhaltigkeitsverständnis von Berufsorganisationen befasst.

Im Jahr 2014 erfolgte der Zusammenschluss von Lehrstuhl und Shared Professorship zum Fachgebiet Immobilienwirtschaft.